i’m your pusher: the everybodyfields


i may say a lot of records are “great,” and thats no lie. i rarely say a record is a “masterpiece.” in fact i probably can say that for only about a dozen or so records. the everybodyfields 2007 release, nothing is okay, is a masterpiece. its probably the most gorgeous and heartbreaking record i have ever listened to. you wanna hear two ppl breaking up on record, listen to this record. even if you dont care about that shit, just listen to it cause its absolutely lovely. its probably my most listened to record from past ten years, and without a doubt my favorite record since i started this here site, which is yeah about ten years. please for all that is holy listen to this record.

edward david anderson “lies & wishes”


after doing this shit for almost ten years, i have written about a lot of bands. some i remember, some i dont. some i should have invested more time with, others i invested time in, and just didnt pan out. back in like 08, i wrote about backyard tire fire and from what i remember i really dug em, sadly i didnt keep up with their whereabouts probably due to my own laziness. in other news, former front man edward david anderson has a new record out entitled lies & wishes which was produced by steve berlin of los lobos. if memory serves me correctly he may have actually produced a backyard tire fire record. i have not heard said record, but dig this tune quite a bit. not in the mood to edit, but just found out after doing some “googling” lies & wishes came out in april of 2014. why have i not heard about this earlier? tis a shame. from what i have read he has a new record coming out in the fall.

my morning jacket live at madison square garden, 12.31.08


howdy! admittedly i haven’t care much for mmj since z, or actually i am not even sure i dug that record? either way, i respect what they do, but to my ears they have just fallen off track. or at least a track that i dig. much love to the taper scott bernstein. if you want it in zip file, clicky here or want it in flac, here.

1. into
2. move on up – curtis mayfield
3. evil urges
4. off the record
5. gideon
6. the way he sings
7. thank you too
8. i’m amazed
9. golden ^
10. librarian
11. youre all i need (marvin gaye)
12. express yourself (charles wright)
13. wonderful man
14. lay low
15. phone went west Continue reading “my morning jacket live at madison square garden, 12.31.08”

hop along’s tiny desk concert

well this is a pleasant surprise, i must say. luckily i happened to be wasting time on instagram when npr posted about this. as it stands right now, hop along’s painted shut is my favorite record of 2015 by a pretty wide margin. nothing against any of my other my favorite records, but dear lord this is amazing.

buy painted shut via their bandcamp page, or wherever you buy fine records. like em on facebook or dont

mercury rev “the queen of swans”


well slap my ass and call me shirley! a new mercury rev record! i have loved mercury rev for probably 20 years. jesus christ, 20 years?!?! if you have never heard deserter’s songs, i cannot, repeat, cannot recommend it enough. it is definitely one of the greatest records ever made. the new record is called the light in you and is being released 9.18. this song kicks all kinds of ass, and cannot fucking wait to hear the whole thing. read more about the record here via bella union.

if you have a spotify account, please do listen to this. i command you!

kent goolsby & the gold standard “outskirts of love” premiere


if you would have told me 5/6 years ago that kent goolsby would be making the kind of music he is now, i, honestly wouldn’t have been that surprised. when i first met kent, he was fronting the now defunct, but awesome band, the only sons. that was then, this is now. kent and his gold standard have a new record coming out on july 7 entitled, no substitute for handsome. its definitely music from a bye-gone era – see everly brothers, roger miller and leon redbone, but sounds completely contemporary. if you’re a fan of above mentioned artists and contemporaries justin townes earle, the devil makes three, etc, you will find yourself right at home with what kent it is laying down. although, in all honesty, i think he does it better. no substitute… was recorded at his home in nashville and was mixed and mastered by mr joey kneiser of glossary fame. i have been looking for a record like this for quite a while, and its no surprise that mr goolsby and band of merry men have produced such a record. definitely gonna be one of my favorites of 2015.

like him/them on facebook and follow him on twitter

pre-order no substitute for handsome here

ryan adams live at the brewery, 10.22.99


you are seeing double, or maybe you’re not? i posted this last night, but i moved servers yesterday, and it appears i posted it to the old server, and then of course when flipped the switch on the new server this was gone. before i forget all praise has to go mark of ninebullets for pretty much doing everything regarding moving the site to the new server. there is no way i would have been able to do it without him. so thank you very much, mark, truly appreciated.

i dont really typing out the information about this here show, again. so just click here, and it will give ya everything ya need to know. click here to download the show as a zip, or click here for flac files.

1. born yesterday
2. funny how im losing you
3. to be the one
4. hey there mrs lovely
5. oh my sweet valentine
6. statuettes with wounds
7. dancing with the women at the bar
8. my heart is broken Continue reading “ryan adams live at the brewery, 10.22.99”